Beginning with Knots – macramé and more.

When thinking about textiles, one may think of fabric and sewing. But if we look closer – what about the very fibres that construct the cloth, we may think about how the threads hold together to form fabric in the first place.

As we look around us, we begin to notice textiles in multiple shapes and forms. As a sailor, I use ropes as a halliard to hoist a mainsail, sheets (more ropes) to manage the headsail, and other ropes (painters) to tie my boat to a dock. Knowing the ropes and the knots that go with them is essential for any boater. For me, this was a reminder of my once loved craft of macramé.  I memorized the most common sailing knots, and then began on the decorative knots.

I have been inspired by the resurgence of popularity of macramé in home decor and fashion.IMG_9496

IMG_9402I have retooled my kit and have begun in earnest. Fortunately, others have as well, with many folks world-wide posting their video tutorials, Pinterest images of their completed works, the resources are rather endless. I will review and share some of my favourite images and links to some of the best videos and webpages for your easy reference.

Paracord: https://youtu.be/BbLJP8Gzgsw

Macramé: large scale – and basics:

awesome website with video and examples

small scale – jewellery: video – macrame

I suggest building your own Pinterest board to save and organize your own favourite knots. Pinterest

 

About Lor

lor miller is an art educator, writer, program coordinator for UBC in Vancouver BC - where she lives with her husband and her mostly grown kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment