Knit City!!! 2019 I’ve found my people!

You know when you go somewhere, and the people speak your language, you know their customs and they know yours; you know when they care about the same things you do, and you can you feel like they know what you are thinking even before you say anything … well, perhaps that is what happens in a village or a family. Well, at Knit City, Vancouver, I found my people.

t7wdad64rjawwc7nmhjca.jpg

The marketplace was filled with keen textile folks and friends. There were demonstrations galore, and plenty to see and do (and of course buy). My focus is on sustainable textiles, and learning by doing, and being (with others). The longer I chatted with any person there, the more they seemed to be in line with my thinking. Local colours, natural dyes, embodied learning – all these good things. And, And, on top of that all, there were beautiful – okay stunning wools, yarns, spindles, looms and samples of knitted and crocheted gorgeousness everywhere!

Some of my favourite stores were: Crafty Jaks boutiqueUrban Yarns, Wet Coast Wools, Angela George Coast Salish Weaver, Custom Woolen Mills, Raveled Sleave (have a pattern for ‘thatch’ satchel to knit then felt!!) Twisted Fae Fibre works (bought another drop-spindle) and Sarah Elizabeth Fibre Works (a family enterprise – with too many gorgeous textile items) !!!

About Lor

lor miller is an art educator, writer, program coordinator for UBC in Vancouver BC - where she lives with her husband and her mostly grown kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment